The Lord’s My Shepherd: Psalm 23

The LORD is my shepherd

Gathering Prayer: (Do this prayer repeat-after-me style)
Dear Jesus, we thank you for time to feed our faith as a family, and time to remember that God is in charge.  Help our time together to be holy time.  In your name we pray, Amen.

Bible Story:  Psalm 23
This psalm is one of those “back pocket” psalms that everyone should know by heart.  Here is a great way to do this together:

It might take a few times to get it right, but the effort will be worth it.  You will remember that the Lord, your shepherd, is with you, in good times and in bad!

Discuss as a family: (Read these questions out loud, and then read the psalm again.  Then, take time to respond!)
What scares, confuses, challenges, or doesn’t make sense to me in this psalm?
What delights me in this psalm or is my favorite part of the story?
What stories or memories does this psalm stir in me? What do I know about sheep or being a shepherd, for example?
What is God up to in this psalm? What is God wanting us to know or to learn from this psalm?

Song:  I Just Wanna Be A Sheep
This is a fun song for the whole family that reminds us that we are part of God’s flock.  Enjoy!

Activity:  Shepherd Sardines
This activity is a twist on the hide and seek game called “Sardines.”  It follows the “Good Shepherd” verse from John 10: 27 “My sheep hear my voice. I know them, and they follow me.”

To play, one person gets to be the shepherd, and everyone else are sheep.  He or she finds a place to hide while the rest of the “sheep” close their eyes and baa.  When the shepherd is ready, he or she calls for the sheep.  Any way to call is fine, though I am partial to “Here, sheepy, sheepy, sheepy!”  The sheep then follow the call of their shepherd’s voice until they find him or her.  Then, they get into the hiding place with the shepherd.  This continues until the whole flock is gathered together in the hiding place.  Take turns being shepherds and sheep until everyone has had a chance to be the shepherd.  We are called to listen for the voice of Jesus in the same way.

Thanks for your commitment to faithfully feed your family’s faith!  I hope that this time was holy time for you.

Closing Prayer: (Can be a repeat after me prayer if you have non-readers in your family)
Dear God, we thank you that for holy time together as a family.  Help us to remember that you are our shepherd and we are your sheep, in the good times, the bad times, and the in between times.  In Jesus’ name we pray, Amen.

Leave a Reply

